Agreement Between Communist Countries

In one of the most obvious signs of Soviet control of the region until that date, Czechoslovakian Foreign Minister Jan Masaryk was called to Moscow and insulted by Stalin for considering joining the Marshall Plan. Polish Prime Minister Jezef Cyrankiewicz was rewarded for his rejection by Poland with a five-year trade agreement that was to include $450 million in loans, 200,000 tonnes of cereals, heavy machinery and factories. [73] The Eastern Bloc has considerable agricultural resources, particularly in southern regions, such as the Great Plain of Hungary, which has provided good soils and a warm climate during the growing season. [199] The collective rural population took place in non-Soviet eastern countries, unlike the Soviet Union in the 1920s and 1930s. [200] Due to the need to conceal the takeover and the realities of an initial lack of control, no Soviet-type liquidation of rich peasants could be carried out in the non-Soviet countries of the East. [200] Western countries have invested heavily in powerful stations that have allowed listening to services such as the BBC, VOA and Radio Free Europe (RFE) in the Eastern Bloc, despite attempts by the authorities to block the airways. Britain, France, the United States, Canada and eight other Western European countries founded the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) in 1949. In 1955, the Soviet Union responded by creating the Warsaw Pact. Throughout the Eastern Bloc, both in the USSR and the rest of the bloc, Russia was known and called naiboleye vydayushchayasya natsiya (the most prominent nation) and the rukovodyashchiy narod (the ruling people). [162] The Soviets encouraged fear of Russian actions and characteristics and the construction of Soviet structural hierarchies in other Eastern Bloc countries. [162] The Eastern Bloc, also known as the Communist Bloc, the Socialist Bloc and the Soviet Bloc, was the group of communist states of Central and Eastern Europe, East Asia and Southeast Asia under the hegemony of the Soviet Union (USSR), which existed during the Cold War (1947-1991) as opposed to the western capitalist bloc. In Western Europe, the term “Eastern Bloc” generally referred to the USSR and its satellite states in the CAEM (East Germany, Poland, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria and Albania); [a] In Asia, the Soviet bloc included the Mongolian People`s Republic, the Socialist Republic of Vietnam, the Lao Democratic People`s Republic and the People`s Republic of Kampuchea, the Democratic People`s Republic of Korea and the People`s Republic of China (before the Sino-Soviet split in 1961). [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] In America, the Communist Bloc had included the Caribbean Republic of Cuba since 1961 and Grenada.

[6] The Soviets also shaped economies in the rest of the Eastern Bloc, outside the Soviet Union, along Soviet command lines. [167] Prior to World War II, the Soviet Union used draconian procedures to ensure compliance with the guidelines, to invest all assets in a state-planned manner, including the collectivization of agriculture and the use of a large working army assembled in the gulag system. [168] This system was largely imposed on other Eastern Bloc countries after World War II. [168] While the propaganda of proletarian improvements accompanied systemic changes, the resulting terror and intimidation of ruthless Stalinism veiled feelings of alleged benefits. [109] After Stalin`s death in 1953, the forms of a “new course” of economics helped revitalize private construction. [233] Private construction peaked in 1957-60 in many Eastern Bloc countries, and then declined with a sharp increase in the number of public and co-operative housing units. [233] Until 1960, the per capita construction rate increased in all Eastern Bloc countries. [233] Between 1950 and 1975, the worsening shortage was generally caused by a decrease in the share of all investment in housing. [234] During this period, however, the total number of dwellings increased. [235] The Treaty of Brussels, signed on 17 March 1948 by Belgium, the Netherlands, the Lu